Reasons to Yoga

As  a friend commented yesterday, some people lose weight doing “power yoga”. It is one of many reasons to practice yoga; I have decided to list a few others. 

–builds muscles by using our own body weight as resistance in the poses

–builds endurance as you learn to  hold the poses for longer and longer amounts of time

–feeling of well-being after a good stretch

–learn to control breathing

–stretches out muscles tight from other activities

–better understanding of how your body works and the muscles you use

–faster metabolism due to building muscles

–possibility of happiness and serenity

 There are more, of course.  Why do you practice Yoga? I would love to hear more reasons. And would any of the above reasons convince you to start practicing?

9 thoughts on “Reasons to Yoga

  1. Yoga is a surprisingly great way to lose weight. When I had time to go three times a week, I dropped 20 lbs in less than 6 months, and I wasn’t doing anything different (in fact, I was eating pretty badly). Thanks for the reminder…I need to get back in there to decrease my stress and lower my blood pressure! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love yoga, but have let it slip from my life over the last few years. I recently found a class nearby and intend to begin again. As I age, I think it’s even more important than it was when I was young.

    Like

Leave a Reply

