Dilemma

As most of you know, I have a lovely mare named Charlotte, aka Charby. Now, horses are herd animals, but Charby has always been very independent. When the other horses were congregated in the upper field, she’d be down in the lower corner, grazing away. She is also the boss mare, if she wanted the horses with her, they darn well better be with her.

When my Mom moved, I figured that Charby would be fine by herself, as she had always been so independent. She was for quite a while, but she has slowly been getting more and more skittish. I have been considering a friend for her. I was thinking a mini horse or donkey, but had concerns on whether she might be too rough for something that size while impressing her dominance on it. This was also an abstract thought as I didn’t think I really had the funds to get anything anytime soon.

Yesterday however, I found a “free to a good home” pony.

Christopher Robin

Isn’t he cute?

The pros are that he’s male (mares like running geldings around, and geldings don’t seem to mind); he’s free; ponies don’t eat much; he’s large enough that she would consider him an actual equine being; he’s young so I can ride him more as Charby gets older.

The cons are an extra mouth to feed (for some time to come, as he is young); an addition to barn (fortunately small as he is a pony!); and another horse to exercise–I had some tough times exercising Charby last year.

So, I throw it to you guys: new pony for Charby or not?

PS if it helps, we are surrounded by all things Pooh. My husband still has his original Pooh from his crib, and does like to say “oh bother”! Our boat is named Pooh as well–it came that way πŸ™‚ Sometimes things are just meant to be.

9 thoughts on “Dilemma

  1. Personally, I wouldn’t get another pony if you wont be able to give it the exercise it needs. Maybe you should just spend more time with Charby? That way she gets used to being around you.. that should help with the fact that she seems skittish and distant. But then again, if you think she needs a companion and you feel like you can tackle the responsibility that comes with another pony, why not add another?

    Like

    • hmmm, that helped!! lol Char and I have a great relationship, but she spooks where she never did before. She needs a friend as “backup” to let her know things are ok. She trusts me on the ground, but when I am on top of her apparently I can’t protect her. Horses! THe good thing is the pony is in a very limited space right now, he would be so excited to see the acres he gets to gambol over πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

