The Injury Report

I hurt my back last Saturday, and it absolutely ruined my week. I decided to look around and see what other bloggers had to say about injuries. And what should we do to treat our injuries. And how to prevent injuries: at least, running injuries. Not knowing what set off my back, it is hard to avoid doing that again. It could just have been that I did too much, increasing my drills and riding suddenly.

       My body may be saying

             “hey, I know it’s spring, but give me a chance to catch up!”

The first time my back went out was about 10 years ago. I was working for my dad on the farm, and we had Farmer’s Market the next day. We were using an old UHaul truck to cart plants and veggies back and forth to the market. I was the primary plant person, so my job was to clean up all the plants and get them loaded. I was leaning over a rose, deadheading it, when suddenly I couldn’t move. I finally wiggled myself over to the pull out ramp and laid down. And there I stayed, staring at the blue sky for several hours before the pain medication brought to me kicked in and I could get up. Not that I could stand, but at least I was mobile. As I lay there, wondering what the heck happened, it occurred to me that I had ridden the previous day.

I don’t know if I have mentioned it, but like her mama, Charby is a klutz. We were trotting over some poles and she tripped. Her nose almost hit the ground, and I pulled her back up. I remember being proud that my seat was good enough that I never left the saddle. Next time I think that I will let her nose hit the ground!

And now for some blogger thoughts: 

It’s like that Mike Tyson quote, “Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the face.” Except mine was less of a dramatic face punch and more of the typical running-related injury that comes on slowly, from miles of overuse and days where my stubbornness kept me from listening to my body and backing off.

Have you ever tried that? Not listening to your body, I mean. It works for a while, but eventually your body’s messages just get louder and louder until you finally find yourself sitting in the physical therapist’s office, unable to even walk without pain.

–Amanda, RuntotheFinish

Although I’ve got one more Argentina post to share this week, today I’m going to talk about running. Or, more specifically, hobbling. After taking nearly 3 weeks off thanks to my hurt back (which became my hurt/numb leg and foot), I felt like my back had progressed to the point where I could try a short run when we got back from our trip. I honestly couldn’t wait to strap on my HOKAs and go for a run. I really wanted to get my marathon training back on track, and the mental break had me raring to go! I didn’t expect a miracle – the amount of wine I drank plus 3 weeks off was going to hurt, regardless – but I wanted to give it the old college try despite lingering numbness in my right foot. I know that sounds crazy. I can’t feel my foot, but I thought I could run on it? Well, yeah. I didn’t really feel pain, I just didn’t feel anything, so I thought, “we’ll see.”  

          –Danielle, TheT-RexRunner

What was it like having to stop training because of running injuries when you were about to reach your goal of running a marathon?

I was really excited about running the marathon. Of course when you’re in that position, when the pain’s still there you kind of think the worse. I was frustrated, thinking I can’t run, I don’t want to make it worse because what if I injure myself and I can’t run again. I think that’s one of my greatest fears, of getting running injuries to the point where I can’t ever run. I especially had this fear before when I was having knee pain.    

           –interview with Natalie, Running Mom, after her stress fracture 

And the cures?

CommonRunningSymptoms

According to the American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine, runners are most vulnerable to overuse injuries…

  • During the initial four to six months of running
  • Upon returning to running after an injury
  • When mileage goes up
  • When more speed work is performed

So when adding mileage or intensity to your training, do so at a gradual rate.                                                                                —Womens Running

This one is a bit too long to add, but it has some good tips for some very basic issues like chafing, cramping, blisters and more. These are the injuries that we don’t really don’t consider injuries, but can still make our lives quite miserable– Runner’s World

I did get to out for a mile run yesterday followed by some stretch-y yoga. Today I am thinking 2 miles? I so want to do more, but I would rather do less and be able to do it again tomorrow than do more and not be able to do anything tomorrow. It helps if I keep telling myself that!

7 thoughts on “The Injury Report

  1. If you haven’t experienced it, you can’t imagine the pain involved. The first time it happened to me, ant the time of the original injury I suspect, I was 13 working on our farm in NZ. I was lifting a twenty litre drum of pig food over an 8 wire fence, I swung it (that was the only way I could get it over) and as the drum went over my back just gave way. I was left lying in the mud early on a wet winters morning. I always describe the pain of that and subsequent ‘episodes’ as if a steel rod is being driven through from back to front, brain numbing, eye watering, that leaves you (exactly as you describe) bent double, not knowing whether to laugh or cry, I say laugh because it has happened so many times now that, although always caught by surprise, it almost always happens at a rediculous moment. The first time my wife saw it was about a year after we got married. It happened in the shower, she heard me scream and came running only to find me standing there bent double. I assured her it was ok but she want to help. I hobbled to the bed room and asked her to help me get onto bed ( big mistake – we had a waterbed at the time) she was confused and panicking so she did the only thing she could think of…she pushed me into the bed!!!😫 Only someone who has experienced the pain could understand how that felt.
    All the best but don’t push it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

