Weekly Rundown

Not a bad week at all. Although it took until Saturday for me to get up and realize that my back didn’t ache, I did get a lot done during the week. And Saturday was quite lovely without pain. I fixed that, clearing land with the hubby on Sunday 😛

Monday: Took Daisy out for a 2.59 miles walk. We went down to the bottom of Blinn Hill; even she looked at me on the way back up, like “are we there yet?”! I guess its a big hill whether you have two legs or four. I rode Charby in the afternoon, making her do a little work. Then I had to walk out Christopher Robin since he ran himself into a lather trying to follow us visually as we rode around the area.

Tuesday: Busy day! I ran 2.33 mile followed by 20 minutes of yoga. I primarily did some stretching and the hip openers. I haven’t done any power poses since I hurt my back, I didn’t think my back would take the bending and holding of the poses. In the afternoon it was Christopher’s turn to be put to work. I rode him out in the back field, so Charby trailed after us. She stayed out of the way, but we were pretty bored. There are a lot of sunk in hoof prints from when it was soft and muddy,  now it is hard to avoid them when working out there.

Wednesday: 2.52 miles with Daisy again. She does so enjoy the walks, and it is so fun to watch her fuzzy butt trot down the road; tail up and head down as she searches for every and any scent!

Thursday: I did an amazing thing. I took the day off. No garden work, no walks, no horse rides. First time in several weeks.

Friday: I had to use a ‘trick’ to get myself out there and running. My first mile was 12:31, not something to be exactly proud of. But expected, seeing how I didn’t want to go in the first place! My second mile was 10:16, which is pretty good for me, especially on my hilly roads. A 2:15 minute difference seems like a good improvement to me, and I didn’t even know I was going that fast. I must be getting in better shape 🙂

Saturday: Since I had to go to town for errands, I decided to run on our local rail trail. It is conviently located in the grocery store’s parking lot. I love running the rail trail, it is mostly flat and so somooth. Ran 3.06 miles in 31:26. Very good for me, and only 2 minutes off my 5K pace from last fall. I broke into a 9 minute mile for the first time this year. Even better, it was the last mile.  I wonder when I will crack the 8 minute?  It was a short ride in the afternoon as I ran out of time (too much time spent reading in a chair!). But Mr. Christopher and I had a nice little get to know and trust each other ride. He is still getting used to his new home; and strange little things like leaky, hissing hoses; blowing dryer vents where there was no noise last time; strange farm equipment moving around the property give him pause. But I talked to him, and he decided to trust me and walk by those horrible scary things. It was a wonderful moment.

Sunday: another busy day. I did full yoga, 35 minutes, for the first time since my back went out. It felt soooooo good. I was so relaxed afterwards. Which was great, because then I went out and spent 2 hours helping my husband clear more land for the garden. Good news is, we are ready to rototill, then plant. It was supposed to be cloudy all day, but the sun came out. Which would normally be a good thing, but it just made it extremely humid and hot. It was a bit too warm to make Charby work, so I decided to long-line her.

It provides something new, so she doesn’t get bored with groundwork. She hates being lunged endlessly, and we have been over our usual groundwork exercises ad nauseaum earlier this spring before I started riding. She gets testy doing the same old thing, and then itsn’t fun for either of us. But this is new, and gives us something to do. She was very happy to do what I asked her. Gave her a good brushing and ear scratching, and she practically fell asleep while I combed out her tail. Then I brought out Mr. Christopher and gave him a good brushing and clipped his mane. His mane and tail are gorgeous, but heavy for this time of year. He didn’t enjoy quite as much as Charby, but he is a male, after all. It was a lovely hour spent with the equines–even if Christopher immediately rolled as soon as  I put him back. Men.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Rundown

  1. The kind of week that makes me tired just reading about it!!
    Reading this one could almost think that the only thing you do is ride horses, run, mend fences, and lie around on a deck chair reading…a charmed life😎

    Like

    • Well, I am unemployed currently, so yes. And studying, I have been taking a class to change careers. I have been lucky that I don’t have to look for a job until I finish my certification course, but that moment is coming up in the next few weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Interview went well. It was for a ‘Yardsman’ position at a new car dealership. It is a great company to work for where staff are treated as no. 1 priority. One of my sons works there as an IT consultant and a friend worked there for twenty years and is a friend of the owner. But I have another job that I will probably take…bus driver. The dealership have said if things don’t work out on the buses they will still try to find a place for me. What do I do…twenty five years in taxation!!! Over ten years in my own businesses (different kinds of businesses) , I’ve done many things. What would I like to do? Be a professional mental health blogger. Anything else??? Getting late in your part of the world!

        Like

      • Checked WP. Your comment was there, but in Spam! Fixed that and WP should work properly in the future but just let me know if it doesn’t. Thanks for your comment.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

