Thanksgiving in August

This is a post I put up last Thanksgiving (when I was on a different host site), and if they can have Christmas in July, why can’t we have thanksgiving in August? It is always good to remember how you are blessed.  I changed a few things; as my life has changed a bit since then and I have also expanded my thankfulness.  

As some may know, I don’t have a job right now.  At first it was terrifying in this economy to have that paycheck yanked out from under me. But it was a blessing. I was able (thanks to the unemployment the state agreed to bestow on me) to take a breath and decide what I wanted to do when I grew up. I haven’t really thought about that since high school, just floating along from one retail job to another. This fit me fairly well, as I truly enjoy people. Customer service is my milieu. But, as hackneyed as it may sound, I want to help people. I am tired of selling them stuff. 

Thus, these are things I am thankful for:

It is Thanksgiving, and I am thankful: I am thankful that I live in a country where I don’t have to worry about my home being bombed while I am at work, I am thankful that I live in a country that is not being invaded by an army led a dictator, I am thankful that I live in a country that is not being ravaged by disease. (I do wish I could be thankful I live in a country that rogue idiots aren’t taking weapons of mass destruction into public places and killing innocent people, or that homelessness isn’t increasing or that children aren’t starving, or that a person’s skin color didn’t affect how they are perceived)  I am thankful that I have a home, and a family and husband who love and support me. I am thankful for my animals who lavish me with affection and trust. I am thankful that I have my health and am able to follow my exercise dreams. I am thankful I have friends  who support me and keep me grounded–not to mention having loads of fun with. I am thankful that I was able to get some schooling and change my life’s trajectory in the working world.

Sometimes I think that, amid the diverse and acrimonious politics and social unrest we inflict on ourselves, we sometimes need to remember what we have. It’s not that our world is perfect.   We have many issues and a multitude of diverse ideas on how to fix them. But if we have a roof over our head, family that cares and a job to help pay for said roof, we have so much more than many of our fellow humans. 

So maybe we can’t shop at Williams and Sonoma for that $200 perfect pan, or at J. Crew for that snappy $350 jacket. But we have a home to sleep in and a family to share it with. That is all we really need 🙂  I hope that you have that, and realize just how lucky you are.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving in August

  1. Thank you.

    Living in America made me realise what an excellent holiday Thanksgiving was and so I took it with me when we left. This year, I chose to give thanks with my family in July, instead of Christmas in July. It was a blend of our Australian/UK style Christmas with giving thanks, American style. I eveb made pumpkin pie instead of plum pudding. I plan to make this a permanent part of our family celebrations from now on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

