Weekly Rundown

Finally, a rundown that actually includes running! Who knew? Not quite where I want to be yet, but moving in the right direction 🙂

Monday: off. Unplanned, of course.

Tuesday: will you be surprised to find out I took Tuesday off too? I took some serious naps on Monday and Tuesday, and as I slept well each night, I do believe they were much needed.

Wednesday: yoga. I am doing free yoga since I am mostly doing it in the morning while the hubby is watching the news. Pretty happy with the fact that I get up and do it before heading off for the day. My dad tried to make me a morning person for years, so I bet he is happy somewhere too. Or he’s laughing as I hit snooze at 4am!

Thursday: off again. I had to stay at work for the full day as someone else called out, and that just kinda made it difficult to exercise as I planned. Ah well.

Friday: New Year’s Day! Which meant I had it off and could plan my day around my exercise, instead of trying to fit the exercise in among the events of my day. So I ran! Just a two-mile, slow and steady, but it felt pretty darn good be out there. I followed it up with 20 more minutes of yoga, much to the chagrin of my shaking thighs.

Saturday: a brisk walk with Daisy. I haven’t taken her out recently, and she was rearing to go. It was a beautiful morning, blue sky and bright sun. It was a great way to stretch my legs after the previous day’s run. Daisy and I just did 1.06 mile, but that fast little pup pulled me along in 19:12 minutes. Might have been faster if not for the bathroom breaks (hers, of course!)

Sunday: my first 10 hour shift at the hospital. I knew there was NO WAY I was going to do anything when I got home, so I did my 20 minutes of free yoga first thing in the morning. I have been doing more standing poses, and I just added the dancer pose back in. I love that pose because it focuses on balance (there’s that standing on one leg thing), stretches out the thighs (excellent after running or high knee cardio), and stretches out the arm and shoulder too (great for those of us who sit at a keyboard all day). For anyone wants to try it,  I suggest deep breathing to center yourself first, and keeping your eyes focused on one point. Don’t try to over stretch into the full form if it is difficult at first. Before you know it, you can be in the full pose if you keep at it! Perhaps not at a beach…..but still 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

