Weekly Rundown

Here we are in February already! And it is a leap year, so we all know what that means–one more day to exercise 🙂

So how as the last week in January? Did I finally follow the plan? Well, it was a good week. One of my better for quality workouts. But the plan fell victim to my week once more. Ah well, it gives me something to strive for this week.  Or not:

Monday: off, and that was not planned.  I realized after I had gotten to work at the hospital that I also had to work the afternoon at my retail store. And I was whupped from the two ten-hour days over the weekend, so I knew I wasn’t doing anything when I got home.

Tuesday: a short 20 minute treadmill run. I did five songs running, and one song while doing a cool down walk. The problem seems to be that the songs vary so in length, that I am not really getting more time on the treadmill even though I increased the number of songs. I guess I will be making a mix tape for the treadmill (ok, it will be on my phone, I don’t really listen to tapes!)

Wednesday: ah, this was a busy day. I took Daisy for a just over one mile walk. She was very good, even in the face of other dogs and the mailman. She has been getting a bit rounder–winter weight–so I am trying to add her in at least once a week. When we got back, she flopped on the couch while I did the  Calorie Crusher Circuit I linked to last week. I still didn’t want to do both, so I promised myself I could just do the one; and of course by the time I was done with that I was ready to keep going. I finished off the day with 10 minutes of yoga, bringing it to an even hour of exercise. First time I have done that much in months. I LOVED it.

Thursday: off. I would like to say it was planned, but it wasn’t. But I am happy to say it wasn’t because I was sore from the day before 🙂 It just didn’t happen.

Friday: some freeform yoga. Just about 21 minutes stretching and lengthening. One of my favorite poses is the wide-legged downward dog.  It stretches out the calves and inner thighs from wide vee-leg stance, without making you worry about whether you can get your heels on the ground. By bending at the hips, it opens your tailbone, and the blood rushes down the spine to rejuvenate your brain.
                                                              you can do that, right?!

No, I really mean this:
  Takes a while to get here, I never liked holding this one when I first started. Not because of the legs, but because of the stretch along the back and arms.  I have to say, I have learned the poses I dislike are generally the ones I need the most to stretch out my muscles. Holding this for five breaths is still a bit longer than I like some days.

Saturday: another day off. I had plans, but by the time I got home from work and errands and sent my husband off for his weekend of snowmobiling, I was done.

Sunday: after slacking with three days off, I wanted to do something. But I was working another ten-hour shift at the hospital. Inspiration struck and I remembered to take sneakers with me, and walked around the hospital on my lunch break. I managed 1.64 miles in 24 minutes before having to grab food at the cafeteria and run back to the office. I felt really great that I managed a workout that brought a sweat on during my workday.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

