New Goals

Having had a life changing accident, I think I will be taking my blog in a slightly different direction. Instead of putting down how much I run, or ride, or lift, I will now be sharing my journey back to health.

Right now I have a surgically fixed broken leg (with its attendent metal plate and a few extra bones),  6 or so broken ribs and 3 fractures in my pelvic girdle. They fixed my ACL, and my punctured lung and my nicked liver, so hopefully you won’t be hearing about those so much. I also feel the need to sleep A Lot! Fortunately, I seem to be on the mend.

I am home, which is great. My Daisy has finally, after four days, realized that she does not have to be attached to me 24/7. I have yet to make it out to see the horses, they are down a long and bumpy–not to mention muddy– driveway that I am not sure my walker will roll down. Daisy does like to snuggle with me, she just doesn’t see to think I am going to abandon her again.  Bruce just likes to lay in the living room with me most of the time.

I am ambulating with a walker, with two wheels in front and two dragging legs in the back. It moves smoothly, although I am quite a bit slower than I am used to. But at least I am not in a wheelchair.  I did enjoy the wheelchair at the hospital though, being pushed right along!! But it is good to make progress.

 

 

12 thoughts on “New Goals

  1. I’m so glad you’re okay. I was so busy I didn’t see your previous update, so this came as a bit of a shock. I bet being back home must be a huge relief… Hope the recovery is going well!

    Like

  2. What happened? I haven’t seen posts from you. I will look back through the blog. You I have always enjoyed your writing about the horses and other animals more than the running, so I’ll still be reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

