Weekly Rundown

Another week flown by. Where do they go? Last week was pretty nice here, actual spring weather. Then Mother Nature did her usual mean tricks and spritzed snow on us this morning. Argh!

Monday: 20 minutes on the treadmill, and I even got up to 2.0 MPH. Afterwards I followed with 7 minutes of yoga stretching, and felt pretty good about myself 🙂

Tuesday: I upped my Arm Weights and Leg Pt to 3 sets of 15 reps. I added my squats–which I sometimes forget, and a quad raise suggested by my therapist. It took 45 minutes and I couldn’t believe it had taken that long! I followed by 2 minutes of stretching, and my arms definitely felt the increase.

Wednesday: I had PT–we worked on steps and bending my knee. She put me on a bike, and I turned the pedal as far as I could, definitely not able to go all the way around yet. I am up to 65 degrees, but I can’t wait to bend it even more! I took the day off from regular exercise, figuring she pushed my knee enough for one day.

Thursday: worked all day, and so didn’t want to exercise. So I did! I did a mix of my yoga routines and did most of the hard ones. I didn’t hold each one for the full 4 breaths, so it didn’t take as long as I had hoped (23 minutes) but I felt really good afterwards.

Friday: I exercised early, as I had plans for most of the day. I had to be at the mechanic’s at 8, the Physical Therapist’s at 9:30 and work at 11:30. But first I did my Arm Weights and Leg PT, except I didn’t do any exercises that put stress on the right knee. I decided my therapist would do enough to that.

Saturday: Took Daisy out for a little walk (just over a half mile) and didn’t take the cane. The cane is swiftly becoming a nuisance, and sometimes I just walk better without it.  We moved a bit more swiftly, with an average 2.47 MPH.  The horses had gotten out again (although, the fence was pulled into the paddock, so I figure it isn’t them) and I spent an hour fencing out in the back field. Then I took a half hour and finally brushed those beasties. Poor babies, the ticks have been at them this spring already.   But they loved getting brushed, Charbie definitely looked happy with the attention.

Sunday: Errands in the morning and then more fencing.  I had decided that it made sense to split the pasture so half could grow while the horses ate the other half, and then switch every couple of weeks.  So I went out for an hour or so and put up that fence.  I didn’t do any “normal” exercise, but I think I did enough for the weekend. Plus, then I did the house work: dishes, vacuuming, laundry.  At this point, that is still a workout!

 

Leave a Reply

