State of the Leg Address

My 6 month marker of the accident will be Saturday, so I thought it was a good time to check in with the state of my leg. Progess has definitely been made, although there is more to go.

When I came home from the hospital I was using a walker, then gradually got to a cane and now can walk at will. I was so slow, everyone passed me in the halls at the hospital! As someone who is used to whizzing in between people and speeding past everyone, that was beyond frustrating. I also quickly grew tired of people asking me what was wrong with my foot (that seemed to be the first guess, not my knee), so I put a lot of effort into walking properly, if not quickly.  And now I can walk fairly quickly, as well as not staring at the ground obsessively as I walk. I can walk downhill fairly well, even with Daisy on a leash. I am watching the ground pretty hard then, though!

When I came home, my leg was so sensitive that I couldn’t slide a towel out of the way with my leg, now I can kick the dog toy into the air–much to the enjoyment of Daisy 🙂 If I tripped or knocked into a rut while walking, it reverberated all the way up my knee–painfully. I didn’t play with the dogs when I got home, because I was worried that one of them would knock into my leg, and because I just wasn’t that mobile. And I definitely didn’t go out to see the horses. Now, I feed the horses, lunge the horses, and have even ridden a horse. I play with the dogs and I can fetch a toy if they lose it.

I started exercising with the PT exercises they gave me for my leg, and added on as soon as I could handle it. When I came home I could barely lift my right leg up, and did hip raises with only one leg. Now  my right leg is good for front or side leg lifts; and I can bend my leg enough to put my foot flat on the floor, so that I can do two-legged hip raises.

One of my favorite activities is Yoga, and much progress has been made in my sessions. My first attempt at Triangle almost landed me on the floor, as my leg wasn’t strong enough for me to stretch out over. Warrior positions were not even to be thought of, since my knee couldn’t bend at all. Now I can do Triangle easily (although getting out of Triangle takes thought), and I can do some Warrior positions–I can’t hold them as long as I would like, since holding my weight on my bent leg feels like someone driving a nail straight down into my knee after two breathes, but it is progress nonetheless! I am still trying to do Butterfly, and Lotus will definitely have to wait.

Stairs, oh, stairs. Up the stairs was the first thing I could do, leaning heavily on the railing. Gradually that became easier. Down the stairs is taking much more time. I am still in progress with that. The railing is still definitely needed, and I am now working on “form” so that I look like a rather normal person going down. A very slow normal person.

And I ran! Something I wasn’t sure was going to happen again. My doctor wasn’t sure how much cushion I had left in my knee after the surgery, and he wasn’t positive that running wouldn’t be very painful because of it. I did three minutes on the treadmill in a rather gimpy fashion, but with no pain and it absolutely lit up my whole day.

So I definitely have something to work on there. Once I can run somewhat easily, my other goals are  a Lotus position ( I love sitting in Lotus, in chairs, on the floor, whenever I get the urge), and Burpees. Bending the knee to get into these positions will be the key, and I will keep working on going down the stairs. I wonder if I could skip?

2 thoughts on “State of the Leg Address

  1. You are doing great! It was probably a good thing you did yoga and were active before the accident. You write about this very well. I find people who never work out have a hard-time recovering from things like this because they expect “recovery” to happen to them instantly. They don’t understand it has to be worked at and happens in small gains each day. This post clearly shows that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

