Weekly Rundown

Another week of Mother Nature being kind to us–if you didn’t mind the humidity. It was rather like living in Florida some days. But the sky was blue and the sun was bright and the AC was cool, so I have no complaints.

Monday: Arm Weights & Leg PT. I did the 3 x 15 reps, but instead of resting in between the reps, I alternated exercises. So I did 15 bicep curls, then 15 overheads, and back to bicep curls; or 15 shoulder raises, then 15 squats, then 15 shoulder raises. It rested the muscle, but not my body! Just added a little bit more intensity to the workout. Made it a little faster too, down to 30 minutes.

Tuesday: Did a slow mile with Daisy, taking about 25 minutes to go 1.17 mile. When we got home, I did 25 minutes of yoga; focusing on stretchy moves. Of course, she lay on the couch, watching me.

Wednesday: off!! Had a lovely morning of sitting in front of the tv with Daisy and my computer before heading off to work.

Thursday: Out with Miss Daisy again. We went a little further this time, doing 2.2 miles in 45 minutes. And we included the big hill 🙂 This time when we got home and I did yoga, I added more strength poses to my routine. I have been adding  a lot of warrior poses to strengthen my knee, and it seems to be working as it no longer feels like someone is driving a spike down into my knee –until I hold it too long!

Friday: Arms & Legs again. Still doing the 3 x 15, but alternated exercises again. I worked on my PT bending more as well. Afterwards I went out and made the horses exercise. They weren’t as happy with the exercise as I was 😛

Saturday: a long walk with Daisy. I gotta say, this little dog leads me going out and back–and we were hustling on this walk: 4.1 miles in 1 hour 11 minutes. Having to live a real person life, afterwards I cleaned up and went grocery shopping, then puttered around the house. After a lovely nap with Daisy (we do everything together!), I went out and rode Charby. She was a good girl and we had a nice 20 minute ride.

Sunday: after cleaning the house in the morning, I went out and got Christopher Robin ready to ride. He was feeling a bit contrary again, and he made me work much harder than Charby did. But it was still a good 20 minute ride. Later in the day I got on the treadmill and put my legs to work. I did 10 minute warm-up, then 10 minutes running, a 5 minute walk break, 10 more running and a 5 minute cool down. The running is coming easier now, and my sweet spot on the treadmill is now 3.5MPH.  I was pretty stiff later in the night, but these things will happen as I get in shape!

Leave a Reply

