Weekly Rundown

Another excellent week. The trees are losing their leaves and the temperature is dropping, but it is still nice to get out and enjoy.

Monday: off. My weekends have been so busy, it seems like a good day to take off 🙂

Tuesday: I did some yoga to start my week.  After the accident I had to focus on yoga and I felt that I was more flexible than I had been in years. What I didn’t realize is that I was more flexible since I wasn’t running! Since I started running again, my muscles have tightened up immensely. I am trying to make sure that I do some yoga stretching after each exercise to keep my flexibility.

Wednesday: I pulled out the weights, but instead of my usual Wts and PT, I added some new exercises from a Self issue I found in 2015. I hadn’t done these in a long time, so I did 1×10 reps, while doing 3×15 reps of my usual moves. The Self exercises incorporated multiple moves targeting multiple muscles, and it felt great that I could do them–mostly–easily. When I first attempted them in 2015, they were harder than heck!!

Thursday: a treadmill day. I did a 5 minute walk warm up, then a 17 minute run and a 2 minute cool down. I find that I go slower on the treadmill, my outside walks and runs seem to be at a faster pace. Maybe it is because of the moving ground? I am worried that I will fall and hurt my knee. I also find that I need to hold on to the treadmill arms while running. Again, I think it is the moving ground, it makes me worried about stability.

Friday: off again 🙂

Saturday: Daisy and I went out for our walk. I wasn’t sure how far we were going to go, and I wasn’t overly concerned about our time. Daisy moved right along, so I guess she was thinking we needed to have good mile times. We did actually do 18 minute miles, and walked 4.80 miles. It’s a good thing I have a Daisy to push me along 🙂 Keeping in mind the decrease in flexibility recently, I did 16 minutes of stretchy yoga when we got back.

Sunday: I thought Daisy might be tired, as she was only getting one walk a week and Saturday’s had been long.  But I thought we could try anyway. That little dog tugged me right out the driveway and down the road.

She was so enthusiastic that I thought that we could walk out and run back. So we walked 1.7 miles out at a leisurely pace, and I snapped a few pictures:

 

 

 

 

Even on a rather cloudy day, it was  beautiful out in our area. The end of the road has a gravel pit, and I have always loved those trees left up on the hill.
Daisy and I returned at a light jog. I am definitely a long distance runner, and the first part of a run really isn’t that much fun til  I hit my stride.  After about a third of a mile, I heard a rhythmic pace on the road, and felt better as we went along. I was pretty excited that I knocked 45 seconds off our last run down the road–which brought me to a 12+ minute mile! Not all that wonderful, but it was a run 🙂
Gotta admit, the 1.67 mile might have been too much for me, as my leg did NOT like to bear my weight going up the stairs while doing laundry, and some Tylenol was involved during the afternoon. But it was worth it, as it was a good start.

Leave a Reply

