Weekly Rundown

Whew, another week flown by ! Especially with a holiday in the middle, feels like I barely got past Tuesday. And yet, here is Monday again.

It was a good week. Even with the Thanksgiving food, I didn’t feel like I stuffed myself. Which is amazing, as my brother and his wife have the meal down pat, and it was wonderful. It is always fun to watch them both in the kitchen as they go down the list (yes, they are that organized) and see who needs to do what.

Monday: with the idea of shaking things up, I combined my yoga and weight/PT exercises. I mixed in stretch yoga in between my weights and then some strength in with the PT leg exercises. I may be starting a new trend, because I really enjoyed it. I suppose someone else in the world might have thought of it, but I’m still claiming credit for right now!

Tuesday: I got on the treadmill for 15 minutes; 5 at a walk and 15 at a run. I have been working on going faster, and I was pretty excited to hit 5.0. I still hold on to the handles while I run, I don’t think going down is going to be good for my leg. I try very hard not to lean on the handles, using my core to keep myself upright as much as possible.

Wednesday: I basically took the day off–just a walk around the hospital with my friend. Ever since I started walking days, my weekends are filled with errands and my friend and I have been having a hard time getting our walks in. So we met an hour before I had to work and walked. It was chilly outside (we tried) so some of it was walking around the inside of the hospital. That was rather nice, though, my hospital has some lovely art on the walls, and plenty of stairs to get our legs working 🙂

Thursday: Before the big feast, I took Daisy for a walk. We did a quick 2 mile–32 minutes. Not outrageously fast, but a good time nonetheless. I had planned on doing my weight/PT after, but we were closing on the time we needed to leave for our family get together. So I hopped on the treadmill and ran a mile, before showering and heading out.

Friday: a real day off.

Saturday: Daisy and I went out for another 2 mile walk–two in one week, she was very excited. We got back just before the rain began to come down, which was very good timing on our part. While Daisy rested, I did another set of my yoga mixed with the weight lifting and PT exercises. I really do like it; and I think they complent each other very well, especially working my core.

Sunday: oooh, I didn’t want to work out. I went out in the morning to gather tips for wreaths with my husband–who had decided to make the wreaths this year.It was lovely but drippy out in the back field (I did take my cane in case of tripping). Then  I fixed the horse fence, as apparently there was some snapping the other night. Daisy needed a trim–she is a hairy little puppy. I then decided I might as well get it over with, it was only going to seem worse the longer I put it off. I used the treadmill again (so glad my mom gave me that one), and did some interval training–I really do mean to shake up my body’s routine. I did 5 minutes at 2.5MPH, 5 at 4.0 (running), 5 at 2.5, 5 at 3.2, and then 5 at 4.0 (running). Not saying I enjoyed it at all–even the slow parts–but some stretching and I felt great afterwards.

Leave a Reply

