Weekly Rundown

I had a marvelous week–even with the snowstorm. Bleh. Wonder if spring will ever really arrive? We have a “wintry mix” forecast for tomorrow as well.  And the mud is already deep, I think I am going to have to drive somewhere to walk Daisy for the next month.

But its WARM! All complaints melt away in warmth. Hopefully the snow will melt away as well. I am sure the horses would like to get out into the back pasture–they are a bit frisky right now.

Monday: I ran. Such a simple thing, but so joyous. I increased on the mile I had been running and did a 1.5 at a slow 5 MPH. Took 18.30 minutes and I followed up with a .5 mile cooldown and some stretching.

Tuesday: a walk on the treadmill. I did 30 minutes, the first 20 at only 2.8 MPH until I realized how slow I was going, then I bumped it up to 3.0MPH for the last 10 minutes. Yup, that was faster! I did have the treadmill on an incline, although after the hills around here the incline does seem easy.

Wednesday: I had a plan for Wednesday, but I was trying to run every two days so my leg had time to recover. So I took the day off so I could run Thursday.

Thursday: I ran as planned.  It was odd, I was going the same speed as last time but whenever I took my hands off the rails, I went backward  ??  Eventually I shrugged and just held on as I ran. Some days are worse than others, right?  I was just about done a mile when it occurred to me that I had been walking at an incline on Tuesday. Oops. So I finished my 1.5 mile run at the incline. Go me!

Friday: a nice walk on the treadmill to stretch out my legs after my running.  I did 35 minutes at 3.0 MPH with a bit of stretching afterwards.

Saturday: good grief, it snowed again. Although, the afternoon snow more was like white rain rather than actual snow. Of course, by then we already had 6 slushy inches.  So no outdoors fun for me. I hopped on the treadmill for 30 minutes at 3.2 MPH, then I did weight training with Fitness magazine moves that used my own body weight as resistance (I’d post them, but they have taken them off the Fitness website, it’s been a couple of years–I still use my original copy of the magazine), plus my leg lifts, triceps, etc that I usually do with my lite weights. I did learn something: I might be able to run, and I might be able to climb/descend stairs easily, and I might be able sit in Butterfly with the soles of my feet touching, but I am NOT ready for lunges. Just about wrecked my knee before deciding I probably should stop trying. I finished up with 17 minutes of yoga to stretch it all back out.

Sunday: I did another run. I was worried it would difficult after the lunges, but it went remarkably well. My legs are definitely getting stronger. I also got some turmeric pills a couple of weeks ago. Tumeric is supposed be good for inflammation, and I figured it couldn’t hurt. Not sure if they are helping as much as I think, but my leg does seem to be able to bounce back better. Think I will keep taking them. I did do 16 minutes of a yoga dvd as well. I did the beginning of floor moves and stretches, but turned it off before they got into the slew of Warrior poses. Didn’t think my knee was up to that.

In the later morning we wandered down to our local flower show. It was beautiful and I love the smell of warm earth and flowers from a greenhouse 🙂 I could have spent hours in there….oh wait, I did!

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, plant and outdoor

Image may contain: plant, tree, outdoor and nature

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, flower, plant and outdoor

 

Leave a Reply

