Weekly Rundown

A wonderful week gone by! I feel like I got a lot of things done last week, both exercise and just normal life items checked off, and, geez, am I tired now!

I did have a plan to work the horses and walk Daisy in the evening hours after work, but as usual, Mother Nature didn’t cooperate. We got a few spring rains, which cancelled most of my evening plans.

Monday:I got my Candlelite Yoga fully completed, which was a first in a while. I always forgot how long the series was, and never quite gave it the 40 minutes it needed. I did get Christopher Robin brushed that night, but I gave him the night off from actual work. He seemed happy enough with the loving.

Tuesday: I hopped on the treadmill first thing and ran 2 miles in 21 minutes. It was my first longer stretch and I felt pretty happy about it. I also went to work early so I could walk with Kate. We did 1.84 miles, lapping around the hospital in the brisk wind. Still warm, though 🙂

Wednesday: a day off

Thursday: another 2 mile run on the treadmill. My first mile seemed a bit slow-12 minutes–so I pushed it  to 5.5 MPH for the second mile and still managed to do the two in 22 minutes. I think I was focused on my Hulu program more than my speed! I followed up by stretching out with the first 15 minutes of my Giam yoga practice. My knee seems a bit tender, so I am avoiding Warrior poses, which the rest of the Giam practice is based on.

Friday: 20 minutes on the treadmill at 3.1 MPH, and then back to my weight training. I haven’t been making that a priority recently, and my core was showing the lack.  I do a lot of reps with low weights, as well as using my own body in resistance training.So 30 minutes of planks, leg lifts, biceps curls, etc.  And my body noticed the workout right away!

Saturday: another 2 miles on the treadmill. I did a “slow” version of HIIT with one mile at 5.2 MPH, then the second mile with 2 minutes at 4.0 MPH and 2 minutes at 5.0 MPH til I hit the mile mark.  I was uncertain about running, my knee was twinging a bit when I got up. I went to do errands in the morning before climbing on the treadmill, so I had a couple of hours of walking in to assess my knee before running. I was happy that my knee was fine for the run, and certainly didn’t hurt any worse when I was done.  Don’t know that it helped, but it wasn’t a bad idea.

Sunday: it was an unplanned day off. My husband and I had gotten a small greenhouse kit a while back and decided we finally had time to put it together. It seemed easy enough–but it wasn’t. Took us the whole day and we got nothing else done (and I would like to point out here that my husband is a building contractor, so he does know what he is doing. I didn’t have a clue, but he did). But now I have a greenhouse!

Leave a Reply

