Weekly Rundown

We had those promised spring showers last week, but the sun came out enough to lift everyone’s spirits. I guess we just have to wait for the spring flowers now. Trees are starting to bud out, and I have daffodils nodding happily in my yard.

I had a great week for exercise, except I never got around to yoga! Very unusual for me. And I shudder to think how tight all my muscles must be.

Monday: 15 minutes walking on the treadmill, and then I was off to weight resistance training. I didn’t even pick up my weights this time, it was all body weight resistance. I did 5 burpees (full, with pushup, and slow to make it harder), then on to one-legged deadlifts, side hip raises, side leg raises, bridges,planks……you get the picture. And so did my body–definitely felt it. Especially the side hip raises the following day 🙂

Tuesday: off.

Wednesday: The goal was a run on the treadmill followed by yoga. The reality was a 2 mile run, not followed by yoga. I stretched out, of course, but not enough time for a full yoga session. The run was awesome, however!

Thursday: a 19 minute walk on the treadmill. I don’t usually stop at odd moments, my OCD makes me either do a full 20, 30, etc or I go by the mileage and stop at 1 mile, or 1.5, etc. But I think this particular day I hit 19 and realized I needed to move on to my next task–weight training. I was reading Twitter again, and overshot! I did the same resistance training as on Monday, throwing in an extra Burpee. At some point I would like to do Burpees every day, adding an extra one each day. I’ll keep rolling that around in my mind……

Friday: I went just a hair further on the treadmill run, 2.5 miles. Then I decided to do an extra half mile to cooldown at a walk. So I bumped the treadmill down to 3.0 MPH. And after running, walking a half mile takes FOREVER! I kept upping the speed to get there faster (got up to 3.6 MPH before hitting the 3 mile mark, and I was seriously thinking of starting to run again).

Saturday: I took Daisy out to meet Kate at the Railtrail in Augusta.  We walked 3.5 miles in a relatively slow 80 minutes. We did run into a lot of traffic, and then there was the female eagle sitting the tree waiting for us to take her picture. Daisy had a great time, and considering that I haven’t walked her in public for a couple of years, she did really well. Afterwards we went out to the local greenhouse to get some annuals, then Daisy and I did a few more errands before heading home.

Sunday: finally, a real run outdoors! I felt like an actual runner again. I left Daisy home, so no tripping or sudden stops on my first adventure, and ran a mile to the end of my road and then the mile back. I admit I did not make it up the big hill, as there are no hills on my treadmill. There is no incline on a ‘mill that can prepare one for the 350 yard hill that goes straight up, then slopes, then grades off. I managed to alternate by telephone pole-walk, run, and walk again (thank goodness!). But I was able to run straight through the rest of the terrain and I was pretty happy……ok, I was ecstatic when I got home.
We planted 100 more Christmas trees too, which was why I ran early morning. I knew I would be pooped afterwards! It’s hilly and hard going out where we planted, not to mention the actual work of planting. My knee was not best pleased with me by the end of the day, so I gave in and iced it. But a great day overall.Image may contain: outdoor and nature

Leave a Reply

