Weekly Rundown

I feel the need to increase my mileage. I did manage to get 7 miles in on the treadmill, and another 3+ miles out on the road this week.  I also tried to get incrementally faster each run, so that I could start building speed.

But spring is here and I need to do more, more, more. Balancing my knee drawbacks and what I what to accomplish is about driving me nuts.  I think maybe I need to take a deep breath……can you tell I didn’t get any yoga done last week?!

Monday: off. Back into the Monday off cycle. My weekends have been so hectic, having a rest day on Monday is just necessary 🙂

Tuesday: a good start to the week on my treadmill. I walked for 27 minutes at 3.0 MPH.

Wednesday: I hopped back on the treadmill for a morning run, and did a 5K! I would really like to be running outside, but the weather is not conducive to that. So I decided I needed to run further, even if it is on the treadmill. I ran the 3.1 miles in 33 minutes, which is not the best time ever–but also not worst ever! Especially since it is the first one I have run that distance in over a year 🙂 I was pretty excited for the day.

Thursday: a brisk 25 minute walk. I started at 3.0 MPH, and worked my way up to 3.8 MPH. Halfway through the walk I realized I could have put it on the incline (mine is manual, and needs to be done while not on the treadmill) for an even tougher walk. Ah well, next week! After the walk, I did 25 minutes of weight training. Up to 8 Burpees–I know, so sad. I need to make an effort to increase those. I am still using body resistance training, I haven’t picked up a dumbbell in a couple of weeks. I can feel the muscles complaining, however, so I feel that I am probably working them at the right level of difficulty.

Friday: I got a quick 2 mile run in before going out to sort the horses. I worked my way up to 5.7 MPH over the course of the 2 miles.  My husband had a plan to remove the mud in front of the barn, and I had to get them out of the way for the day.  It required just a bit of fencing and feeding them outside. They have been walking through knee-deep mud to get in and out of the barn, so he took it all out and put in gravel/dirt pad that is making their life much easier. Of course, now they just hang out in front of the barn all day.

Saturday: an almost sunny day! Daisy and I took a 3.77 mile walk at a leisurely pace. it is the longest she has done so far this year, and I didn’t want to push her too much. She had a blast, and a good nap when we got home.  I had planned on my weight training, but since the sky was dry, I cleaned out two of my gardens instead. Two more gardens to go, and I think the coming week  might finally just be a good week to finish them.

Sunday: a lazy day. The rain came back, pouring and gusting. I did a quick 2 miles on the treadmill again first thing so my husband and I could go out and run some errands. I am pushing myself to go faster, the first mile took 11:30 minutes as I used it to work my way from 0 up to 6 MPH. I kept it at 6 MPH  and did a 10:00 mile. Last time I pushed  my speed in early March, I overdid. I was happy that taking my time for the last month and working up to distance and speed worked, and my leg felt just fine.

Leave a Reply

