Weekly Rundown

I never made a plan for last week, and it turned out just great anyway. I ran and walked, made sure to get my yoga in, and used the yoga to do some resistance weight training. The weather was wonderful, and the only thing I didn’t get to do is walk Daisy. She did get quite a car ride–on the way to the vets. Not everyone had a good week!

Monday: off

Tuesday: A quick (10:30) mile on the treadmill before 17 minutes of stretch-it-out yoga. I did try to do some ground work  with Christopher Robin when I got home, but the flies chased us back in quickly.

Wednesday: Back on the treadmill for a walk. I got up to 3.5 MPH, doing 1.68 miles in 30 minutes. The question is, when did brisk walk  start to feel like a day off?

Thursday: I started on the treadmill, and ended on the hill outside my house.  I did a 15:47 minute run first–I planned on just 15 minutes even, but I had to finish the 1.5 mile mark. Silly OCD.  Then I went out to do some hillwork. Gotta say, running on solid ground after a moving belt is just weird. Long ago, before trackers were available on the phone–or our wrists–I used telephone poles to mark distances. I went back to that, running up 1 telephone pole to the next and walking back, then up 2 and back, then up 3 and back. Last run up the hill was running up 1.5 lengthes, walking the rest of the .5, then alternating that up the hill. Wonder how long that hill was? There was actually another pole at the bottom I could have started at, and one over the crest I could have ended at. And I still ran up 7 lengths between the poles (telephone poles are roughly 75 yards apart). I was feeling it when I got to the top!

Friday: back to easy–I walked 25 minutes on the treadmill at 3.5 MPH. I followed up with 20 minutes of yoga, focusing more on strength moves: plank, tree, etc. My knee hasn’t felt up to any Warrior poses recently, I need to start filtering those back in.

Saturday: a run on the road again. I did 2.3 miles to the end of the road and back. I still didn’t make up the first hill, but I made it further 🙂 Got to keep that hill work going.  My knee ached a bit while actually running; loose gravel and dirt being very different from running on a smooth belt. But it didn’t bother me too much for the rest of the day, so that was a good thing. I worked with Christopher Robin in the afternoon; I have a “driving” setup so that I can walk behind him with long lines. It is another way of working from the ground (and gets me a walk at the same time). He was pretty happy to get out of the paddock and exploring up the road.

Sunday: I pretended it was a work day and got on the treadmill at 6am. I did a quick 20 minutes at 3.9 MPH, then 20 minutes of stretch-y yoga. I figured I needed it after all the work I did this week to tighten up my muscles.  The reason I got up so early was that we had to go get a shed and bring it home, which meant that we had to take it apart first. That went relatively well, as the shed came home neatly in pieces and no one was hurt. We were even done early enough for me to play with Charby. I gave her a good brushing and then “drove” her for 10 or so minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

