Weekly Rundown

Just a day late. My excuse?

Well, I have been doing my posts on my Monday mornings  since Monday has been my day off from exercise, and then checking what I wrote that night to make sure it makes sense before posting.

Yesterday I got up at 5 am to go walk before work with my friend, then I got home and had to run around getting ready for the thunder-storm (that didn’t show, how rude!), feed the horses, and the hubby, and do the dishes, and by the time I sat down at 7:30 pm  I was pretty sure nothing I wrote would make sense 😉

It was a good week, we had sunshine and a bit of warmth. A little too much warmth according to some people, but it was such a cold spring I am not complaining until we have three weeks straight of record temperatures.

I had a real lack of motivation and energy this week, but I made do anyway. I just wasn’t enjoying myself most days.

Monday: 1.5 miles on the treadmill. I started out running, but quickly decided that I had no energy and decided on a fast walk at 3.5MPH.  There may have been more than a lack of energy causing my hardship at a run–more on that later. I followed up with 18 Burpees and some stretching for all the muscles that hurt after those Burpees.

Tuesday: still no energy, which seemed to be the trend for the week. I did 20 minutes of yoga, interspersing Tree and Warrior positions in with the stretching. My leg has been doing much better with the Warrior positions, and not complaining as much.I feel better knowing I have been strengthening the muscles around my knee, and it is working.  And 19 Burpees to round out my practice.

Wednesday: I decided to take it on the road, and ran 1.42 miles in 16:07.  It was the 80% uphill route, so I was pretty happy. The route starts up a long hill, and I didn’t quite make it to the top, but I made it close enough for the first time. I came home and stretched and, of course, did those 20 Burpees. My shoulders hurt from those silly Burpees and swinging my arms while running hurt about 3/4 of a mile in. Almost skipped the Burpees, but made myself do them anyway.

Thursday: off! Kinda. I did 21 Burpees in the morning, and walked Daisy a mile when I got home that night.

Friday: I did 2 miles on the treadmill in 21 minutes. I varied the speed from 6 MPH to 5 MPH every couple of minutes during the second mile to change things up. I had wanted to run outside, but it was raining-of course. Then I stretched and, yup, Burpees-22.

Saturday: Out on the road again, 2 miles in 21 minutes. That made me very happy, that  I could run as fast out on the road as I do on the treadmill. With hills, and rocks, and holes to avoid and all!  I did my Burpees, and stretched and then headed out to hang with a friend. When I got home I rode Christopher Robin for 15 minutes. He was a pretty good boy, once he got over the disappointment  of me actually putting a saddle on his back.

Sunday: Oh, the busyness! I helped my husband with his chores (re-erecting the shed), walked Daisy 2 miles, did my 24 Burpees, worked in the vegetable garden, and weed-wacked around the perennial gardens. Then I fly-sprayed and brushed Charby and rode for about 20 minutes before the flies drove us in. And relaxed gratefully in my armchair that evening.

Funny story: I discovered the treadmill was on incline all week when I hopped on it this morning. Oops. No wonder I didn’t have any energy!

Leave a Reply

