Weekly Rundown

I have a confession–I am a running addict!

Now that I am out on the road, all I want to do is run. The heck with a balanced exercise program, I just wanna run.

Of course, I can’t  just run. My body, particularly my knee, wouldn’t allow that. And I suppose I would miss yoga and riding if all I did was run. I wouldn’t miss weights or Burpees though!

Monday: instead of taking it off as usual, my friend was available for a morning walk so I started with 20 minutes of stretchy yoga before heading off to meet her. We didn’t do much, just a mile and a half around the hospital.  I did my Burpees before leaving too, 25 for the day.

Tuesday: I planned on a 2 mile run out on the road. But Mother Nature had her own ideas and it started to rain just before I ran out the door. So I did 2 miles on the treadmill, watching Macgyver 🙂 I worked the speed up to 6.5 on the second mile. Too bad I wasn’t paying attention to my splits, but I did do the run in 19.46. I finished off with stretching and Burpees. I did 26, and alternated the width of my hands to work different shoulder muscles. Ok, it was really cuz my shoulder muscles killed and I needed to alternate to be able to do them all….but the other reason sounds better.

Wednesday: a day off! Except for those Burpees, of course. Up to 27. And I forgot to do them before my shower, so I had to do them after work. Won’t do that again!

Thursday: I did a 2 mile run on the road, and it felt great! My first mile was slow, 11:40; but I made up for it on the second mile, which was 10:30. I came back to do 20 minutes of yoga. I did a mix of strength and stretch poses, with my 28 Burpees mixed in as well.

Friday: I took the day off to have the vet out to see the horses, so I had a bit more time to play with. So Daisy and I headed off for a walk. We briskly walked 2.99 miles in 50 minutes. And my OCD is so unhappy with the 2.99 😛 If I had known, we would have walked up and down the driveway to hit 3.0! Afterwards I stretched and did 29 Burpees.

Saturday: another run! And I took a right instead of a left out of my driveway, so I had the uphill mile ahead of me for the first time this year. I made it up the first hill (last time I made it 3/4s of the way when I ran out just a half mile), and up all the hills that followed. It was slow (12 minutes), but I made it! It felt marvelous to get that hill behind me, I had been avoiding running that way. Of course, the mile ends at the peak of the hill, so to go on a longer run, I need to run down–and back up. Next milestone 🙂 And, lets not forget, I finished off with 30 Burpees. So now, should I ever get into an Elite Spartan run, I can now officially fail 1 obstacle.  In the afternoon I hopped on Christopher Robin. He has really come a long way since I got him, as he was loved but no one really used him at his last home. So it has taken a while for him to realize that he has to work here. He has a great personality, so working that awareness into him has been fun. We had a great ride, just a few minutes longer than we had been doing.

Sunday: Daisy and I walked out just over a mile and ran back.  I have to run a bit slower with Daisy–I have been running longer distances now, plus she likes to look around and make sure she sniffed everything on the way out.  But that’s ok, because it gives me time to work on my form. When we got home, Daisy climbed on the couch and watched me do my 31 Burpees. I worked around the gardens and helped my husband with that shed (it is going to have a grander second life than it had at Gramps’), then rode Charby in the afternoon. We did some actual work, trotting continuously and  doing circles, instead of the wandering I have been doing. Time to get us both in shape!

Leave a Reply

