Weekly Rundown

Whoo-hooo, what a week. I mean, I am pretty tired right now, but really, what a week! With the holiday in the week, I had an extra day to get things done.  Weather was lovely and I was able to do everything I wanted when I wanted. That never happens!

For all that I kept saying I need to get more miles in, looking back over my last three weeks, I only averaged 3-5 miles. But this week I blew that out of the water with 10+ miles. I think I still have the buzz.

Monday: I started the week with some stretching yoga mixed in with my strength poses. Warrior poses really aren’t bothering my knee at all anymore. I find the less I want to do a pose, the more I need to do a pose.  Took me some time to make Down Dog my friend too. I’ve always enjoyed Warrior poses, but my knee hasn’t been up to it for the last year. Working back into it was akin to working to enjoy Down Dog.

Tuesday: I went out for a 3 mile run….and came home 4 miles later. It felt marvelous, and I even ran a bit up the hill past my driveway to get to the 4 mile mark (that OCD is terrible). I stretched out and kept the “good run” buzz for the whole day.  I took Christopher Robin out for a ride later in the morning. Even though I really don’t like riding on the road (drivers be nuts), I thought it would be fun to take him up the road for exploration. Who knew he didn’t want to go?! We got almost to the top of the hill when he decided it was far enough and we started doing spins and backing up. Silly boy. I did make him go just a bit further (like a child, you can’t let them win), before bringing him back and riding per usual at the house. He has come a long way, as our disagreement was far shorter than the ones we had when I first started riding him.  Sometimes I think it is just for form before he gives in.  Good for my legs and rear, though, having to push him.

Wednesday: I went back to my weight training. I hadn’t done it at all during June, figuring the Burpees were keeping the muscles strong and active enough. I decided to do 3 reps of 15.  I had been on the verge of adding a rep before I stopped in  June, and figured I better start where I had left off. I also added push-ups to keep the strength from June going. Just 5 to start, as doing them in a row was a bit different from them being scattered through the Burpee.

Thursday: another run! It didn’t feel quite as good, but I did manage the 5k path from my house. My pace was slower than Tuesday’s run, but I made it through. Still got the run buzz, just from completing the run.

Friday: I planned on taking it off, but ended up doing 1.5 miles at a leisurely pace with my friend before work. So, mostly off!

Saturday: know those days when you just want to do it all? I wanted to run, but I wanted to get Daisy out too, and I needed to do weights again. So Daisy and I walked out almost a mile and a half, then ran back the last mile to complete almost 3 miles. She started off slow, but by the time we’d gone a quarter-mile she was leading the run 🙂 When we got home I picked up the weights and did 35 minutes of weights, mixing in a few stretch yoga positions between the reps. In an effort to keep my core strong, I also did some more push-ups, 2 sets of 5 this time.  I rode Charby later in the day. We were also working harder, since last time it took 24 minutes for us to cover a mile and this time it took 18 minutes. More trotting covers more ground faster!

Sunday: I wanted to make sure I hit the 10 mile mark this week, so I ran a (very slow) 2+ miles. I did pick the 80% uphill route, just to give my legs an extra workout. Running down hills is getting easier, as long as I make sure to land on the ball of my foot instead of the toes.  I have a tendency to reach out with my foot without bending my knee and landing on the toes, which is a wonderful recipe for falling on my face. Rode Christopher Robin for about 10 minutes. I wanted to check out the new ring my husband built me just that day, so I put a bridle on him and we went out. Ohhhh, the flat smoothness! Not sure the horses will enjoy the work, but I am going to love having a good area to work them.

 

Leave a Reply

