Me vs Tech, #1

I didn’t forget my Weekly Rundown post this week.  I lost internet. It is unbelievable how much we rely on that now. How odd that I grew up without internet and now can’t live without it.   I just felt lost.

My husband and I don’t have a lot of data on our phones, as we have internet at home (usually) and at both our workplaces. So we hopped on email or Facebook for a quick moment, then got right back off.

And, I admit, texting is great, but I prefer a real keyboard for lengthy  writing. Also, since I am on open wi-fi 40 hours a week at work, I don’t have anything important on my phone. Wanna hack my email? Dang. You got into my Facebook? Ah well. But I don’t have any bill or finance info on my phone. That sucked over the weekend,  I couldn’t do anything.

When I called my company the first time on Saturday, they said Wednesday. I said that was really unacceptable, and the tech agreed. He told me dispatch would call in an hour to see if they could do sooner.  Two hours later I called back. And then again several hours after that I called again, when I found out that the following Sunday was the soonest I could be home when they could get here.

A whole week of no internet? What, were we in the 80s? I couldn’t take it.

Fortunately,it occurred to me–no help from my internet company–that I could exchange the modem (which we all believed was the  problem) at my local cable office.

And lo, we got internet back last night. Much rejoicing was had. But no typing was done…..ooops!

 

Leave a Reply

