Weekly Rundown

I can’t believe it is the last day of July. It was such a cloudy, rainy spring here that when we finally got some nice weather at the end of June, it felt more like spring had finally arrived than summer. I feel so very behind on the months!

Fall is my favorite time of year, however, so I am looking forward to a sunny, warm August and a long crisp fall. Much more time to  spend outdoors yet. I can run and ride for months to come!

Monday: I didn’t want to do it. My last run had been a few days previous, and it hadn’t felt all that great, so I had to force my sneakers on my feet. It was only a mile, I kept telling myself as I headed down the driveway.  It was a marvelous mile! Time was only average, but the run felt terrific.i didn’t have the radio going, so it was just the sound of my breath and the rhythm of my feet. Wonderful.  I followed up with 20 minutes of yoga, doing pretty much only stretch moves except for a nice long plank.

Tuesday: off. And I liked it!

Wednesday: another run, 2 miles. First one was slow at 11:45, but I picked up the pace for the second one-10:16. I think I need work on my pace, as it was completely unintentional to knock off that minute and a half in the second mile. I do generally get faster the longer that I go, but I don’t seem to have a lot control over just how fast I am going. Or not going! I did  2 sets of heel raises and 15 Burpees when I got back. I run off the ball of my foot, and in theory that should propel my forward momentum. But I realized recently that I don’t have as much forward spring as I used to. So heel raises have been added to strengthen that movement.

Thursday: a half hour of weight training. I had to get up early to sneak it in as I also had a walk with my friend at the hospital before work. So only 3×15 reps. I do seem to have a good excuse every week not to go to 4×15 reps. Maybe I should just do heavier weights if I can’t add in that extra rep?

Friday: following my plan (I had a plan!), I did a 3 mile run. Oh my, it was awful. Felt like I was running through water, and that last hill! Oh! My butt hurt all day.  But when I finished, I realized that I had knocked 5 minutes off my best time on that run this season. No wonder it hurt!

Saturday: a nice long walk with Daisy to stretch out my muscles. And a little bit of hill work. We walked down the big hill-which was far easier than it was last year, although the really steep part on the bottom was a challenge with a doggie pulling on me. Then we turned around and walked back up, past our road and all the way to the top (.98 mile). Daisy is in great shape, just trotted right on up, checking out all the important sniffs. In the afternoon I took Christopher Robin out for some groundwork (I was just too tired to saddle and ride). He did well as I lunged him, then took him out in the driveway for some leading, but when I took him back in and lunged him again, he was shocked. Normally I lunge, lead and give a treat. He did not like this upset to the structure and let me know, throwing a hind leg or two as he dashed around the lunge ring. Once he calmed down and started listening again, he got that treat. Always good to keep them guessing! I do so hate being predictable.

Sunday: last run of the week, so 4 miles. Not terribly fast, but a good run.  I reached the point where I simultaneously felt like I could go forever, but also wanted to stop instantly. Fortunately, I managed to not stop til I hit my driveway; where the horses had no sympathy with my heavy breathing,  but expected breakfast instantly! I had a bunch of little stuff to do around the house, and then in the afternoon we went to get the hay for winter for the horses. Loaded the trailers in the field, brought them home and unloaded into my hay storage. About half way through we started getting concerned if we were going to get it all in. We did, but by a very small margin. I could probably get five more bales in there, but that is about it.  It seemed like a busy day, and my phone agreed: 25,692 steps. I think that might be my record!

Leave a Reply

