Weekly Rundown

Another week gone by! Seems like just yesterday everyone was saying that it was only August, and don’t mention fall; but now it is September 18 and Fall is upon us! Drifts of leaves on the deck, foggy mornings and crisp air…..oh wait, summer came back last week. Still leaves and fog, but the afternoons were back in the 80s. I would like some more crisp air, please.

It was an easy week, exercise-wise. I think that I am on the edge of burnout, I have been doing six days a week for at least nine months now. So this week I took two days off (felt weird) and did a bit less on the days I did work out.

Monday: I stopped off at the Gardiner end of the Rail Trail on the way home. I am loving my new hours that let me run at different places. Not that I don’t enjoy my road, but I have been running/walking the same paths for months now. After taking the last week easy, I decided to see how I could do with 2 miles. I did pretty good. My first mile was sub 11 minutes (which is the best so far this season), and while I did do a third or so of a mile before turning back, my second measured mile was 9:11. And I wasn’t dead 🙂

Tuesday: I had plans of weights and yoga, but took an unplanned day off. I did take Christopher Robin out back for a walk; I am doing more ground work to break the “oh my gosh, I can’t leave Charby” mindset he has.  He was fine, although a bit dancy. When we got out to the ring he spontaneously decided to run about, so I let him out on the line and lunged him. He had a great time, bucking and racing. He didn’t pull or try to get away at all, he was just letting off steam.

Wednesday: I decided to run at the hospital before heading home. I did just over 3 miles, which may have been a mistake. I think I got a bit close to overheating, as it was 84 degrees and sunny. I definitely didn’t have enough water in the car. Better planning next time. I had recovered by the time I got home, so I took Charby out to lunge her in the ring. She didn’t have as good a time as Christopher, but she did behave herself nicely.

Thursday: another day off. Ahhhhh…….

Friday: I planned to walk with a friend, but she didn’t feel well so we decided to pick another day. I came home and did the weights I skipped on Tuesday, doing a half hour mixed in with stretch Yoga poses. Then I gave the horses the night off.

Saturday: we out in the morning for breakfast (still wasn’t hungry by 2pm!), and stayed out a lot longer than planned as we hit a “tent” sale at a local lumber yard and found some log siding for the cabin out back at a great price. It took a bit to load, then we got home and had to transfer it to a trailer to take out back and then unload from there.  So that was the morning gone and I was ready for a nap! After hanging around the house for the afternoon, I took Daisy for a half-hearted mile walk, and took Christopher out back to lunge again. He is a spry pony, he was having so much fun that at one point all four legs were off the ground as he bucked and jumped. I had to walk him out before taking him back in as he got a bit sweaty, but he had fun.

Sunday: another day where I just wanted to do everything. I started out with a 4 mile run (it would have been a good time if I had run 19 more miles at the same pace, but not so good for just a 4 mile run); then carried and stacked wood for an hour and forty minutes–it’s that time of year again up here in Maine. Right after I finished that I decided to ride Charby–my theory being that I better not stop or I might just be done! We did 25 minutes, then I vacuumed….laundry…..dishes. By the time the football game started at 1pm, I was concerned about staying awake for the whole game!  I did, however, watching my team roll over the other team. I did take Daisy for a brief walk out back to the cabin  where my husband was working during half-time. That helped wake me up for the second half.

Leave a Reply

