Weekly Rundown

What a fabulous week! And the weather was so nice. Just in time, Mother Nature is reminding us who is in charge: this week Maine goes back to winter, snow included. But spring will probably be the following week 🙂

Monday: arm weights and PT leg exercises. I left the reps the same, doing two of 15 each. But I took two of the leg exercises and morphed them into one to make it a bit harder. I was doing front leg lifts and side leg moves while on the floor, so I changed into a front leg lift then out to the side without touching the floor (hello, tummy muscles).

Tuesday: more of the same, two reps of 15 of the arm weights and PT leg exercises. Then a bit of stretching. I noticed that morphing the two exercises into one actually made my time shorter, so I guess I need something to make my 25 minutes back to 30 minutes.

Wednesday: success! I added a bridge to my workout, doing it with one leg, while my right leg stays even with the left leg. I also did some yoga poses, adding in my plank. I tried a down dog as well, and it was mostly successful, although I imagine I looked like a lopsided tent! But my workout was 35 minutes, and that made me happy.

Thursday: a pure yoga day. Last time I could only do 10 minutes of yoga poses, this time I could do enough poses for 20 minutes. I could hold the plank–yay! I also did down dog again, and  purvattanasana–which I have always called a reverse plank.


So much easier to say. The session felt fabulous, I don’t think I have felt that peace and stretched feeling since my accident. Happy day.

Friday: ah, best day of the week, although it didn’t have much to do with my exercise routine. We had a big day, first we had to go down to see my doctor and find out how my leg was doing, then we had to meet with our lawyer. I also had applied for a 40 hour/week position in my department, as I was only working 20 hours since I got hired last fall. So I did exercise, first thing before we left the house. I knew I would not want to do it when we got home. My first good news was a call from my boss saying I had gotten the position, and that she would work around restrictions the doctor put on me. Then the doctor cleared my leg!! I can drive….oh, the freedom. I missed driving! I can go back to work–no more daytime tv!! I can put full weight it, and begin to treat it like a normal leg. I can get rid of the walker (whoo hoo) and did in fact pick up a cane on the way home.  It was a marvelous day!

Saturday: I did about 15 minutes of yoga stretching, but since I had exercised every day so far this week, it was not intense. I just wanted to feel the stretch 🙂

Sunday: arm weights and PT leg exercises. Since I can put full weight on the leg, I did try a wide legged bend, which went fairly well.  The muscles along my calf complained more about the stretch than anything else. But I held it, and the weight was not a problem for my leg. I did manage to stand on the leg while lifting my left leg, but it will be a while before I can walk without the cane I think.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Rundown

  1. Kudos! Great work and you’re really brave to push it so much! I broke my ankle skiing when I was 11 and it took me many weeks to get up the nerve to put weight on that leg so, well done! And congrats on the job. Looks like you’ll have a great Spring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

